Momentum

bridge-19.jpg

I recently heard the story of an addict who had been using for years, daily staggering through the same old game, hustling for the money to feed his habit before trailing after dealers to sell him his next inch of jaded relief. One day he was sitting in his regular patch when an old friend from school passed by. Without slowing his pace, the man turned slightly, and, glancing his way, said Are you still at it? in a disinterested tone, then continued on his way.

The addict stared after him, shocked by those few, simple words. Only he knows what images of the past crowded his brain, what feelings of loss at his wasted days, what thoughts of his shame and degradation – but in that blinding instant he made the decision to change, to embrace the future he had perhaps, long ago, in his schooldays, taken for granted.

He went into recovery, and now he repeats his inspirational tale to all who he feels may find it helpful.

I like to think that he thanked the school-mate for clicking the switch that gave him the momentum to change his life.

We all have moments of grace, when desire, strength and faith combine to make many actions that hitherto seemed too distant to consider, achievable, and the littlest thing can open our minds to great possibilities.

©Jane Paterson Basil

Author: janebasilblog

Jane sits around and writes a bit, then she does some other stuff, then she sits around and writes a bit more, then she eats something. Sometimes, at night, she goes to bed.

11 thoughts on “Momentum”

    1. The only problem with it is that we can pin too much onto every small improvement we see, and when there’s a slip-back we crash – but I’ve got used to tempering my hope, and have found strategies to minimise the damage caused by the crashes when they occur.
      I just wish I could do more for the people out there who are about to go through this – or rather, prevent it from happening to them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Jane.
        I need some help.
        On my new header on my front page,
        I have three masks. When I try to put up any
        words they just appear in a black square,
        obscuring the masks. It looks terrible.
        How did you achieve the great header you
        have on this site.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I use the twenty thirteen theme, which is pretty reliable, I think. You have Hemingway Revisited. I’m going play with your theme for a while, and see if I have the same trouble, then I’ll get back to you.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I meant Hemingway Rewritten…
        I just tried it out, and it looks as if it’s supposed to be that way. You’ll have to change your theme, unless you canlive with the masks being covered by a nasty black box. I’d go for it – that image of yours is worth hanging onto. The only trouble is, you need to find a header that it will fit into, unless you can jiggle them about and make the image narrower – but that would be a pity. What are the dimensions of the image?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Go onto your site, hover over ‘My sites’ in the top left corner of your screen, then go down and click on themes. You can scroll through them and preview any that you like the look of, then click on ‘Try and Customise’ in the right top corner of your screen. The twenty thirteen is there somewhere, and it suits me, but you could play with some others too. The trouble they all have different header sizes, as I mentioned before. Have you got a tool to adjust your image size?
        Have you ever done the Blogging 101 course? You get one a assignment a day for four weeks. It teaches you how to make the most of your blog, and if you interact with other students, you’ll to pick up new followers while you’re on the course. You can’t sign up for it at the moment, but here’s the link, and you favourite it and watch out for the next course if you’re interested.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hi Jane.
        No reply icon appeared beneath
        your last comment, so I shall reply here.
        Thank you so much for your time and effort.
        I am now on the same theme as you.
        It’s great.
        The masks have been cropped but not obscured.
        And I love the whole layout.

        Alan x

        Liked by 1 person

      6. That looks really good, though I would have expected you to opt for a black background. I know it’s not so comfortable to read white on black, but it would be so appropriate for your content x

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Raili. It turns out not to be such a bad thing, going through the alphabet like this. I looked at N, and thought of nuclear fission. My ex immediaatel came to mind. It never occurred to me to link him to that before, but I think it works, poor man…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

